An Image

2014-09-02

“What? No..! I can’t believe it. He is alive”, he bursted out at him.

“Rahul…! You must have to agree with me; you should accept the fact. He’s no more. It’s all done. The incident happened at around 11:30 pm day before yesterday nearer by a pocket road in Menaka Junction. He was heading back to home after the commencement of a private function in an apartment there. As per the most recent communique by the city cops in connection with the medical results, it’s a normal death caused due to severe internal bleeding in the brain; the body was neither harmed nor slaughtered by anybody. Although the reason is still unknown. An oldman who was coming by that way found him on the desolate road at around 10:13 pm and admitted him in the nearest hospital within half an hour. While he was carrying him to the hospital, Rahul was gravely murmuring something. “I’ve done everything…. I’ve….”, he was frequently saying it as per the oldman’s valid statement. It was medically acclaimed by the superior surgeon by around 11:15 that he’s no more.  Actually, nobody knew it. He asked Rithika, who came to know about this far fetched news at first, to hide it from everyone, even from his beloved achan (dad). Achan got informed regarding it by today afternoon only.

“He alleged his vast findings to know the darkness in his life through…..while we were boozing at my home last week. He was so happy while talking endlessly, that night. You know how wise he’s… He is not that bad at finding his…. He was… I couldn’t… Nooooo…. He’s alive! Rahul is alive”, Rahul emotionally articulated while staring at his closest pal’s enlarged smiling photograph framed on the wall opposite to him.

“Words are meant to be proven by many! But why he….? Why??? What if we’re without him…? Can you imagine it? Tell me..! Can you….? How about she? How about Rith? They dreamt a lot together apart from us; their love; the way in which she cared him; his selfishness to make her happy at no cost; objections from everyone, but they loved like nobody else…together..floating in their world. How’ll she accept it? Where is she? Where is she?”, he asked, the loathing clear in his voice and posture.

“He’d forgotten all about us—my heart ached at the thought—but we’d never forgotten him. Come..! Let’s go now. We must… She is his girl. She already went a lot through it.  I didn’t see her anywhere there as I went to his home in the morning. I think she’ll be there. Yea! Let’s go”, Rahul said, pointing a finger at his room on the other side.

Both of them allegedly entered into the room after unlocking it with the key they’d.

It was a messy room with the picturesque of his photographs fixed on the white wall. As they went through it, one-by-one, memories they’d with their mate passed in and out through their minds. But… When that image- someone staring at someone’s eyes- trespassed their way, they stood right in front of it and overlooked at it for more time.

“He loved you, Rith—”

“As if I could believe that.”

“—for as long as he can, such a long, long time.”

– Rahul
4 thoughts on “An Image

  1. Bit unclear. Perhaps intentional.
    Perhaps, the Rahuls referred here are one and same. It could be two people, but still, I get that kind of a thought.

    What I didn’t understand is why he says ‘I’ve done everything…’
    Perhaps you will try to clarify?

    -Aadi

    • Excuse me, I won’t explain anything from what I’ve penned! You’ve already read what is there in it and that’s what my little story meant for you. Regarding the Rahuls, they’re not the same da. What’s so wrong in using the same name for 2 characters in a short-story?

      I’ve done everything means he has done everything! Short and simple. 😛 😀

      Have a good day, Mwooney! Hope that Onam celebrations are going well there. Enjoy. *hugs*

      – Rahul

I would be glad to have your comments on my Insights!

