Chetan Bhagat’s Half Girlfriend

Chetan Bhagat and his #halfgirlfriend

Once upon a time, there was a Bihari boy called Madhav. He fell in love with girl called Riya.
Madhav didn’t speak English well. Riya did.
Madhav wanted a relationship. Riya didn’t.
Riya just wanted friendship. Madhav didn’t.
Riya suggested a compromise. She agreed to be his half-girlfriend.

I’m so sure that this would also conquer Indian readers mind! I mean, Half Girlfriend is going to be yet another flimsy- romantic cliche from Chetan Bhagat, who is one among the national bestselling author, which will hit the bookstores by the mid of October during this year. Although I’m a critique reader of Bhagat’s works since I completed reading Revolution 2020, I wouldn’t say that Bhagat’s novels are based on poky- cheesy- fanciful plots like many of his readers say, though he’s conquered many of the teenagers as well as youngsters hearts through his alluring writing style and redundant story plots. As a published writer, if he’s successful in conveying his inner creations to the outer world, at least right in front of this major group, then how could many of us underestimate his newly written novel just after hearing its title before the official launch? 

I went through certain tweets related to #halfgirlfriend today and what welcomed me was the uncovered pole vaulting stature of the search term on the web within hours since after the official announcement from the author regarding his latest book’s release.  A few among them made me think like a pointless tweet lover, whereas the rest made me laugh like I’m watching a show of The Big Bang Theory. A number of interesting tweets in them is as follows:

 

https://twitter.com/sids91/status/497011023224647680

Now, it’s my turn to tell my expectations regarding the book. I love explaining things so shortly and simply. Here it is:

 

Madhav loves Riya

Riya hates Madhav

English is his problem,

it was their theorem

 

Half girlfriend, a trauma

found out by a drama

Chetan speaks

twitter shines

Love is a pen

holds his tale’s den

I would love to know your anticipation on the book too. Feel free to express it without a second thought here.

PS: This post is entirely a funny take on the basis of my personal views and all those tweeters on Chetan Bhagat and his works. Although, if anybody feels so bad about it, I earnestly apologize you for what I’ve written. *smiles*

Photo Credits: Google Images

8 thoughts on “Chetan Bhagat’s Half Girlfriend

  1. Hahaha what a ridiculous title! But the guy is a marketing genius and he definitely anticipated and probably welcomes all the attention the title is getting from the ever-critical Indian audience, that too before the book is even released! Did you know the guy pitched his first book to the publishers using a presentation about how to market it rather than story itself? Same strategy here. His storyline – redundant. His female characters – eye candies. His writing style – mediocre. But yes, he sells.

  2. I don’t even know why people read Chetan Bhagath’s books. He is so filmy in his story telling. If you want your story to be a movie, why publish a book ?

    And I strongly believe writing easy to read love stories is much easier than writing a gripping fiction

I would be glad to have your comments on my Insights!

