Hardcopy Or Softcopy?

Hey folks! I’ve received a mail from a blogging friend of mine last night who has asked me regarding my inactiveness in the blogging platform these days. It was then, I reminded about this simple blog space I’ve created  2 years back under the blogging domain’s network. And yes, I’m not that active like before here. It’s not because I’m too much busy these days, though I’m taking a short- break from the virtual world completely for a change. It doesn’t mean that I lost my interest for blogging as well; I would come back whenever I feel like the same as before. However, I’m trying my level best for not missing any of the updates from you people, the ones I follow back, and of course, it’s really nice to read all of you. Stay calm and keep blogging, Fellas. *smiles*

Rather than wandering in and around all through the virtual world, I’m giving much attention for reading books these days. I’ve already completed The Prophet written by Kahlil Gibran, My Story written by Kamala Das, A Book Of Short Stories written by Edgar Allen Poe, another one written by Padmarajan, Kafka On The Shore written by Haruki Murakami and The Fault In Our Stars written by John Green within one and half month or so; and now, I’m reading the softcopy of How I Braved Anu Aunty & Co-founded A Million Dollor Company,  a humorous- true story written by Varun agarwal, an Indian author. Among the ones I read, I had the hardcopies of all the above mentioned books except Murakami’s Kafka On The Shore and hence it was such a wondeful time I’d being together with those ever written best sellers and reading them, most of the times during the midnight with a cup of hot coffee/ tea in my hand. 

Here is an account on the differences I felt while reading a hardcopy over a softcopy; it’s not about which copy you read, but the reading process is what actually does matter, I know. Anyway, have a look at it and I would love to know regarding your perspectives about it too.

1) Reading a hardcopy is superb-sexy even if you do/don’t know the softness of a softcopy.

2) Handling a hardcopy is much harder than handling a softcopy; if you’re not that bad at reading the hardcopy/softcopy of a book, I suppose, you’ve already got the right meaning behind what I said. You may have to spend more time while reading hardcopy rather than a softcopy.

3) Not any softcopy could give you the printed fragrance of a hardcopy, and thus an inner peace; reading a hardcopy by holding it directly in your hands and turning the pages just seem so nice to escape at least for a few seconds/minutes from the real world to an epic world of innumerable thoughts.

4) Having a good number of your favorite books in your library can make you feel so jealous on yourself for the unique treasure you’ve.

5) Addiction factor! Yea.. Of course, hardcopies are too good at it.

6) That’s the thing about books; it would definitely kill your time so easily.

Photo Credits: Google Images

– Rahul

 

14 thoughts on “Hardcopy Or Softcopy?

  1. Give me a hard copy any day and nothing beats the sheer joy of holding the book in your hand while sipping coffee. I just started reading The Prophet and such a sexy read..in fact, it’s an omnibus with five books in one. Loving it:)

  2. Great that you could finish so many books!
    Agree with your views. Even I love the smell of books! Real books are better than e-books!

  3. absolutely marvellous. only yesterday i was fascinated by someone’s tweet that said sth very thoughtful about the much hyped thing called ‘friendship’. it said that friendship is evil as it keeps us away from books and reading!! Write about these books please. I would want to read your reviews! 🙂

  4. My little brother, I’m also taking some time off the virtual world these days. You must already have noticed my absence from FB. Misisng you all a lot as hell but you know, I’ll be back soon.

    • Yes, I know! 🙂 Live in the present in a real world, Mashe. 😀
      Come back when you feel like having it. Have a good time there.

      .P.S. I missed your contact number as I changed the cell! Ping me whenever you’re free, Bheekara. 😀

      – Rahul

  5. Hey,

    Nice to read your work again. Just wanted to leave a comment to let you know, whether you write more or less than before, your writing itself is amazing and makes me want to read more of your work.
    By the way, Is the Prophet good book? Any comments on that..

    Warm Regards,
    -Naima

    PS– Kepp up the good work! Keep Reading 🙂

    • Yes, of course! I’ve read and re-read this book with an emphasis at various times on different chapters which relate the different chapters of our lives on love, god, beliefs, agony and all with profundity. Shortly saying, a paperback which can change one’s overall perspectives and thoughts regarding life. Anyway, I’m sure you’ve already read it. 😀 🙂

      – Rahul

I would be glad to have your comments on my Insights!

