Proud to be known as a Nurse

Initially I felt like running away; neglects and abuse at work is difficult to digest. It is brutally, physically, mentally and emotionally an exhausting work. Dangerous pastime! Don’t care what happens, who does, and what’re the causes; but a nurse gets blamed for their work. Not just at work, even when I attend a wedding or any society ceremony, people come to me asking for remedies for arthritis, swollen leg, menopause and so on… My parents are excited and looking for a perfect one go answer. The situation is embarrassing, if my solution didn’t cure them, it obviously disappointed me.

 A slow pace was another drawback! Talking personally  with critically ill patients made them cry and I again experienced guilt for allowing them to shed tears instead of making them happy. Sometimes patients are so rude and demanding, treating us like peons. Seriously, we couldn’t bare it.
Why can’t I share these experiences with someone? What are friends for? So, I would call them up telling my nightmares. Worst of all, most of my pre University friends and schoolmates had got into Engineering. Everyone had a question on their mind why I chose nursing? Instead of helping me out, all they would say is why on earth did you choose nursing and not Engineering like us? In fact nursing was not on my list.But finally I graduated as a nurse with a great enthusiasm.
I kept on thinking why is this happening in nursing. I love my profession, I love the atmosphere am working, then why is this happening? I kept on thinking. Dream, dream and dream and if you sincerely work on it you’ll surely earn it. Then I soon  realized if something had to change and it was me. Yeah! The only person or system that can fix the problem is myself.
Soon got my hands off my hips. I realized, my job is more complex than any job and I am responsible for patients’ lives. Working in dialysis has made me more complex. Most of the time its nurses who provide the care and implement life saving interventions before doctors arrive.
Yes, nursing is versatile, not limited to hospitals. There is more to nursing and nurses than anyone will ever know. It is very clear now that I’ve to update my knowledge and help when people come to me asking for health solutions.
It is clear that I had to grow two more sets of arms, like a goddess, run faster than a marathon runner, work on telepathy, empathetic abilities. Smile when you greet a patient however tragic your life is. Being a newbie I insisted to be trained well about things in the department and how to  handle it.
Now I’ve learnt those who appear ruder and demanding are in reality just scared stiff, trying to cope with unbelievable stress. I learn not to feel bad to hold their hand and share their tears. Am happy that they allow me the privilege of sharing their tears.
Nursing has taken me to a place I never expected! Gained experience and wisdom that are invaluable and have only made me more passionate about nursing.
“Every single day, absolutely without fail, at least one person looks me in the eye and says a heartfelt ”thank you”. That is all the job satisfaction one needs.”
-Anusha Thaikad
PS: Well, this is a guest post written by my closest sister-friend, Anusha Thaikad who is currently residing in Bangalore, India and looking forward to spend the rest of her life as a nurse in Australia by beginning of next month onwards. I’m really glad to update this very heartfelt-comprehensive piece written by her over here and feeling so impressed to see the dedication and stability in her profession. May the glory of your peaceful mind spread to others through the profession ya own, Superb gal. All the very best for your bright future coming ahead! God bless. 🙂 🙂

I hope ya people also would find this post as an interesting one! Have a good day. xoxo
11 thoughts on “Proud to be known as a Nurse

  1. Beautiful…
    “Every single day, absolutely without fail, at least one person looks me in the eye and says a heartfelt ”thank you”. That is all the job satisfaction one needs.”

  2. Its a great post, Rahul.

    Your friend sounds beautiful and it takes a very caring loving soul to do nursing. They seem to do more than the Doctors do! 🙂

    My 20 year old niece is just about to graduate and become a nurse. She wants to eventually work in third world countries. She is an amazing girl. Have a great weekend. Hugs Paula xxx

    • Hey dear! I’m so much glad to introuduce a sweet soul like her in front of ya all. I’ll definitely convey your regards to her. Have a great time there. God bless. xoxo

      Rahul

I would be glad to have your comments on my Insights!

