Review: Amen

‘Amen’– A pakka script based and wisely did flick from Mallu industry which I saw after crossing 2 and half months of this 2013 with uncountable numbers of star valued, big cum short budgeted raunchy movies. Yes! It’s after such a long while, I’m watching a memorable Malayalam movie which has truly touched my inner heart as a viewer or entertain me at its max for the bucks which I had spent in watching it. A movie with “very elateful humor-pragmatic story-divine romance-dominant locations-excellent crew-flamboyant cinematography-opportune music”, that all together makes this Lijo Jose Pellissery’s divine thread as an assorted one from the recently released flicks. The transformation of this young director is somewhat interesting though. He had tried action and mystery thrillers via ‘Nayakan’ and ‘City of God’, but this one? If he had taken that substantial gap meant for the making of a mixed chaste work, indeed, you did it, Gentleman. *HUGS*

I felt the unsurprising effort put by this Director Sir while choosing the actors and co-workers who all are a part of this project and everyone including a guest comer had done their level best in handling their roles well on this jejune village story. When it comes to Indrajith, he is going to become a trailblazer with this single project. You haven’t done a rookie character, but so touching-nondescript leading initiator throughout the movie in our arising Mallu field.

You could watch a senescent and shyness portrayed Fahad Faasil in this movie, which would be definitely a worth one in his career. The sensuality pictured Kalabhavan Mani, Swati Reddy debut into Mallu industry, Rachana Narayanankutty’s dogmatic styled acting, bits by Kulappulli Leela and all really worked well at every point of the movie.

The background score and music adopted also gave a distraught quality throughout while watching it. What made this movie ‘so’ special for me was the impact which it has put on me at the ‘end’ I guess? I was a bit uncomfortable with the giant cheering by various fan followers in the theatre when the movie was ON (PS: It doesn’t mean, I’m incompatible with all those theatre fun with these guys, but it wasn’t a right time for me at that instant). When it came to the end, the scabby overwhelming mind in me burst out fully for being a part of such a large crowd and flashed throughout here and there inside the theatre by the loud ring of applauding and overjoyed comments. Amen….! ❤

Verdict: MUST WATCH ONE especially during this Easter season!

6 thoughts on “Review: Amen

  1. I have nothing to say against the film… I loved it very much and it’s effect hasn’t gone from me (You know, U get a strange happy feeling when you leave the theatre after watching a very good film..I still have the same effect even now)…It squeezed the acting skills of all the actors in the film…
    I desperately wanted to watch the film right after I saw the ‘Shaap Song’ on TV… I am mad about long takes–they have something in them that drives me crazy…And everytime a shot exceeds a minute or two, I get a sudden impulse to applaud…
    The sequence shot (i.e in ‘Shaap song’) in Amen was amazing…
    A huge thanks to Lijo for giving us a fabulous film…

  2. Hey Aadithya! A Mallu song took in single shot? Even I was also so suprised while watching that song for the very first time at the theatre itself. Especially that local slanged-band set up by the end of this newly treated and visualised thread. Hats off to our Jose Pallissery’s son and the whole crew included in the making of this highly ecstatic flick. Thank you so much for dropping by and leave your comment here. Have a good day ahead. God bless. 🙂

    Rahul

I would be glad to have your comments on my Insights!

