Am I fool enough to say, Facebook is just a social network only?

When I hear my name ‘Rahul Ashok’, the first thought that comes to me is the visual of my timeline with an updated profile picture and notifications at the top. Facebook has given me an identity since when I started to love it! This is my own world, as I always write in my profile. But what if Facebook takes people away from me, step by step?
Is it showing or reminding me that those friendships were built in it and hence it has all right to take that off as a whole??

My own world!

 Let me hit at the reason of writing this. The immediate cause is the ‘close friends’ option introduced by Facebook. While editing the list, I got confused with certain names, as some are too close to me (I think), but never bother to see me on Facebook. I got an unknown prick of nostalgia that made me check my last year on Facebook, the updates that I had written, the persons who had commented, the style of mocking at each other for fun, the kind of person I was then… It took me back…so long back to the grey shaded yesterdays… The present had no possessiveness on me as I could easily slip away in my magical time machine. Once I started to go through it from back to front, I had my eyes filled, seeing certain names very much alive there. Slowly, it started to suffocate me with lots of memories and the difference that it has with the present. I didn’t feel to see to that any more, as I was breaking out with blocked feelings. For me, Facebook isn’t just a social media for me to share some statuses, friendly chats( With known’s and unknown’s), playing games and all. It’s exactly a creative world put forward by myself, where the control is owned under my hands. 🙂 \m/

I should say that those two persons whom I always refer to as my right and left were gifted by Facebook.:)

 I remember it with all thanks for the two persons whom I always refer to as my right and left were gifted by Facebook. And the huge circle that completes us was welded together with the magic of networking. We used to exchange words in this same platform in any of our walls everyday. We used to make fun of some persons in our gang, the chance kept rolling. Mostly I was the joker and I hug those moments close to heart. As time passed by, some people started to get recognised by public getting into film industry and we all used to rejoice over that. While thinking of those days, I still feel the happiness that we felt being together. Now at this point of time, I realise that I have lost them on Facebook. And they ask me whether I am not still satisfied with a good number of followers. Even when there are huge number of likes or comments in my profile, I miss them in each of what I put there. Most of the times, I search in even the ‘like’ list to find their names in it. My likes or comments get drowned without a response in their profiles as well. Some friends even scold me for appearing in their walls in each of their updates regularly so that other people notice that. So I tend to be silent there, for better. Sometimes, I click on their names and see whether they are online or whether they have updated round that time, and I madly wish that they come to my status as a gang and start commenting there with the old fun. But that doesnt happen, unfortunately, anytime. And I don’t hope that the old time will ever come back again.  I had discussed this with some people in the gang. Some say that they are too busy with many things and they don’t log into Facebook much. ‘Busy’, I believe, is mostly a made-up word, to hide some other reasons behind. Even if you are busy, if you have the real passion to hold a relationship, you will find time to exchange a word, or show a concern even if it is momentary. That matters in a large scale.You never know how lonely the other person is, without you. Feel proud that there are people who wait for you, who search for you, who miss you in your long absence, who turn pages of those good moments together cherishing each… 🙂 🙂

Facebook teaches me, how to expose some hasty thoughts through statuses! 😀 😛

From being friends in Facebook, some relationships grow beyond networking. But we tend to forget the steps behind as we move forward. Once the e- mail id is there, we tend to start chat and forget each other’s Facebook profiles where you were active. Once the phone number is with us, we tend to forget the FB, email and whatever was behind. And getting regular on phone gives us a feel that the other person is just a call away and easily accessible. Slowly the frequency of calls come down and fades away. They never ping on mail, never keep in touch in any of the networks, doesn’t even bother to see what we ‘mentioned’ about them. And you forget that the other person is only and just only a call away, in another essential sense. Relationships keep on changing, when people start to become ‘taken for granted objects’. Even some gets married though! I had read somewhere that everything is most valuable only twice- before getting it, and after losing it. My close friends are those whom I had almost lost here. 🙂


This is not a story of mine alone, but this process is going on with every active person on Facebook, I bet. With this post, I want to remind you of certain people in your old days. Think that someone will be doing this same thing for you too. Try to send a word to those who used to be parts of your regular thoughts, even when you have a handful of new faces with you. I wish you think of them once you finish reading this. 🙂

Am I right?? 😀 🙂

I may appear as a fool to you, for taking such a matter for writing as a blog post. 😛 😀 Many of those who can see their faces in between these words may find it irritating and may discuss about how embarrassing I am. May be tomorrow I will regret for this writing thinking of my silliness, but I will never feel regret with what I wrote here and how I felt for each word in this. It came right from my heart with all the sincerity in it. It was just because, I had a quiet natural feeling that, “I miss you, my dear friends…”

Thank you Mr.Mark! 🙂

I would like to thank, Mark Zuckerberg for lending away such a wonderful gift to the whole world! You are the mahn…
Hat’s off to you… 🙂 \m/

Thanks,
Rahul

8 thoughts on “Am I fool enough to say, Facebook is just a social network only?

  1. Very true! rahul! each and every point that you wrote..Its true.just for the sake of being on a friend list is now absolutely absurd,if you really dnt feel for that person. I hate people who just want to be the audience for your updates and experiences and have a look around,without letting their closed ones about themselves . Matter of fact,people care a damn about others now, if there is something or someone who could be of help,or could increase your profile or status,gets connected…the real ones are lost..for feelings are lost…

  2. Yup sissa! You said it…..\m/ 🙂
    STRONGLY AGREED with your opinion. 🙂
    Facebook is now just a social media meant for updating some statuses, picture sharing, making new pal’s etc…etc…. for most of the users. It’s really an unwittingly approach I guess…
    “ATTITUDE of a person really matters here!”
    I’m glad to hear that you liked the post.
    Have a great day ahead.
    Cheers.

  3. I really enjoyed reading this and it made me think. Facebook used to be a wonderful thing for me. Well, it still is, but it’s different now. Before, my best friend and were ALL over each other’s walls. I moved a couple of years ago. Now, it’s like she forgot about all about me. My most important friend faded over time on facebook. I love looking back and seeing what we used to have. Overall, I love facebook, but I feel that it’s now just for people trying to impress ones that they don’t care about. Maybe new day she’ll remember me.

    What I wanted to say, though, was that I love this 😀

  4. I went off Face book for a while because it took up so much time and mostly wasted reading silly careless remarks. There was no real conversation . Twitter is just the same. But I missed some of my family living far away but still being in touch so I went back on. I still have a Face book account but check in only twice a week or when I get a notice.
    Thank you for following my blog. I think this venue is much more creative and you get so much more than a snippet of information. I will be looking forward to your post.

I would be glad to have your comments on my Insights!

